Behind the Bush: Ellie Mullins

If you’re ever looking for Ellie Mullins, you’ve got to first figure out that each day corresponds to a different job. Ellie, one of the hardest working women we all know, spreads her skills all around Harbor Country. You can find her caring for the cows at Middlebrook Farm, or of course at Local, the amazing sustainable meat shop she runs with her bacon-making husband, Pat. But on a few special days during the week she graces the taproom with her presence, pouring pints like she was born to do it. She kind of was; she was born in Belgium. Ellie is always smiling, always positive, and has her own set of regulars. Want to know more?

What do you do at Greenbush?
I tend bar, chat with customers, clean and most importantly drink beer.

How’d you get involved with the brewery?
I met Scott & Kristen Sullivan and Jill Sites about a year before the opening. We all became friends over good food and drinks, bonded over the fact that we were all opening up new businesses and thankfully when they were looking to hire they welcomed me.

What time is happy hour for you?
Anytime I get to sit and eat with people that I love.

You’re on a deserted island and can only have one case of mass-produced domestic beer dropped to you—what do you pick?
Ice cold Miller High Life in a bottle. It’s the champagne of beers!

Redeem yourself—what’s your favorite non-Greenbush beverage to drink?
Lillet Blanc with a twist of orange on the rocks, preferably on a warm sunny day around 4:30-5 o’clock.


What’s been your most memorable experience with Greenbush thus far?
I’d have to say the pop up kitchen day by Matt Maroni & Choo. It was so fun and so good! We should do another one of those!

What does your husband think about all this madness?
He’s super stoked! He thinks it’s great to have another great place for people to go in our beautiful Harbor Country!


When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
I wanted to have my own business and so here I go!

If you were a Greenbush beer, which would you be and why?                            Jadis, because it’s sort-of Belgian like me and it rocks.

What’s your favorite food?
That’s hard! Cheese, pickles, cured meat… Can I just say Antipasto and cover all those items?

Where do you think you and Greenbush will be in 5 years?
In all super cool bars, shops and homes everywhere! BUT still with a great heart and soul in downtown Sawyer.


If you only had one item you could take with you to work at Greenbush, what would it be?
My husband Pat.

What’s the most exotic place you’ve ever visited?
New Zealand. Pat and I spent 3 months there in 2010, working on farms, backpacking and traveling around. It was so incredible! One minute you’re on white sandy beaches seeing sting rays in the water and the next you’re in caves full of glow worms and the next you’re touching a glacier… you get the idea.

Chicago or Michigan sports teams (or Indiana if you’re crazy)?                   CHICAGO! And for all of you that want to argue, “But you’re in Michigan!” we are technically closer to Chicago than Detroit so there!

Did you have a favorite brewery before Greenbush opened? If so, what and why?
Hollister Brewing Co. out of Goleta California, great beer and great people.

What’s on your nightstand?
“Farm City: The Education of an Urban Farmer” by Novella Carpenter and a glass of water (always!), lotion for my hands & feet and a little cute dish for my wedding ring when I sleep.

How many beers do you drink in a typical day?
I either take the night off or have 2-3 unless I’m going all out.

Rhapsody Hero (where you try to pick the WORST song for everyone to enjoy)—what’s your pick?
Probably anything by Nickelback…  I think they may be the worst. Ever. Thankfully I don’t know any names off the top of my head thank goodness.

BONUS question
. What’s your favorite pork product?
You’re killing me here! I have to decide on one?!? Okay okay… I have to say Mortadella.

3 thoughts on “Behind the Bush: Ellie Mullins

  1. Pingback: Behind the Bush: Jill Sites | A Beer in the Hand is Worth Two in the Bush

Leave a Reply

