Behind the Bush: Joe “Carlos” Hinman

It’s funny how many of us are from the area. Why, Joe Hinman (Carlos as he’s known affectionately to so many around the Bush) is a Harbor Country native, born and raised in Three Oaks. Little did he know, playing kickball in Rich Sullivan’s high school gym class, that he’d be one of the first original members of the Greenbush staff. Curious to know more? Check out this installment of Behind the Bush.

What do you do at Greenbush?
I’m a brewer, I clean things, I keg beer. Mostly I do a lot of schlepping.

How’d you get involved with the brewery?
I’ve been friends with Jill for awhile and she brought me along. I met Scott at one of the Extreme Beer Fests she used to do in Three Oaks, without realizing his dad was my high school gym teacher. It’s still weird calling him Rich instead of Mr. Sullivan.

What time is happy hour for you?
What time is it right now?

You’re on a deserted island and can only have one case of mass-produced domestic beer dropped to you—what do you pick?
Just one case? That’s harsh. Old Style, no question. It would be the only deserted island that’s authentically krausened.

Redeem yourself—what’s your favorite non-Greenbush beverage to drink?
Scotty Karate, Dark Horse’s scotch ale, can’t be topped. Non-beer: bourbon or rye.

What’s been your most memorable experience with Greenbush thus far?
They’ve all kind of melded into one crazy ride. All of the different festivals we’ve done, the chef collaborations, the Morso dinner, Kalamazoo Beer Week, it’s all been great. I really enjoy after hours on Fridays, hanging out in back (or this past week, up on the new shelving we built) reflecting on the past months of chaos.

What do your friends and family think about all this madness?
They’re all very supportive and proud. My dad and brothers dig the good beer hookup, though I think sometimes my folks wonder when I’ll move out.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
Oh man, lots of impractical things. I remember having those coloring books for little kid water colors when I was young and thinking I could make a go at this artist thing. I didn’t understand that smearing paint over a picture of Scrooge McDuck doesn’t pass as art.

If you were a Greenbush beer, which would you be and why?
Terminator X. I’m always on the edge of panic.

What’s your favorite food?
Tie between cheese and pulled pork. Does that mean it’s really cheesy pulled pork?

Where do you think you and Greenbush will be in 5 years?
I’d like to see Greenbush all kinds of crazy places. As for me, I will still be schlepping, making sure it gets there.

If you only had one item you could take with you to work at Greenbush, what would it be?
Steel-toe boots are a brewer’s best friend. At least at Greenbush. Does this question mean I can take only one thing to work and nothing else? If so, I take back what I just said. [Editor’s note: no, it doesn’t.]

What’s the most exotic place you’ve ever visited?
Muncie, IN. No wait, my answer is the same as Justin’s on this one because we went on the same school trip to Mexico, just many years apart. Though he didn’t mention going to Isla Mujeres, an island off the coast that is what that Jimmy Buffet song “Cheeseburger in Paradise” is named after. The more you know.

Chicago or Michigan sports teams (or Indiana if you’re crazy)?
The Cubs.

Did you have a favorite brewery before Greenbush opened? If so, what and why?
I did and still do: Dark Horse, because they’re awesome. Plain and simple.

What’s on your nightstand?
If by nightstand you mean trash can with a book on top of it, then that has my laptop and The Wastelands by Stephen King (part of the Dark Tower series which you should all read right now) on it.

How many beers do you drink in a typical day?
I’m not sure what a typical day is anymore. Let’s say 1-5.

Rhapsody Hero (where you try to pick the WORST song for everyone to enjoy)—what’s your pick?
That’s tough. I would say Careless Whisper, but it does have that sexy sax, so I’ll go with When a Man Loves a Woman.

BONUS question. What’s your favorite hop variety?
Brambling Cross. It’s nice and earthy, kind of toasty and spicy but not astringent. Classic British hop.

Leave a Reply

