Behind the Bush: Sam Walker

Let’s say you need to get something down from or up on a tall shelf. You would ask someone tall to help you, right? Now let’s say that something is a full keg. In that case, you would enlist Sam Walker. But that’s not all: Sam started as an intern way back in January, washing kegs and building shelving, and he’s now our Distribution Manager, making sure everything goes out the door as it needs to so you can enjoy a tasty beer at your favorite place to enjoy tasty beer. And that’s still not all, as you’ll learn in this month’s installment of Behind the Bush.

What do you do at Greenbush?
Greenbush made me Distribution Manager! How cool is that?! I also do general plant operations.

How’d you get involved with the brewery?
I was living with Baney in Bridgman a couple years ago and Scott came over with some home brews. I got to try it and I, like everyone else, said,”You should sell this!” Fast forward to last January, I had been washing the windows at Greenbush for months and one Tuesday I walked in and said to Scott, “I love Greenbush. I’ve kind of joked around about working for you someday. Both you and Jill have said you like the idea. Can I work for you?” Scott said yes and asked if I could start Thursday. Fastest interview ever.

What time is happy hour for you?
Happy hour is illegal in Michigan… so… all day.

You’re on a deserted island and can only have one case of mass-produced domestic beer dropped to you—what do you pick?
Miller High Life Lite. To quench thirst at desperate need. Plus I might need to put out my camp fire or something.

Redeem yourself—what’s your favorite non-Greenbush beverage to drink?
Non-Alcohol: Water/White Powerade. It’s easy to dehydrate in the back of the brewery.
Alcohol: Lately I’ve enjoyed a good martini. 50% Skyy, 50% Beefeater, extra dry, dirty

What’s been your most memorable experience with Greenbush thus far?
A while ago Scott and I built some huge shelves to store our grain right in the middle of the plant. That evening, a bunch of us hung out on top like it was a VIP deck, drinking some beer and telling stories. There have been other great memories of course, but that is my favorite.

What does your family think about all this madness?
They’re happy that I have such a great job.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
It was between a ninja and a hobo. Ninjobo?

If you were a Greenbush beer, which would you be and why?
Hm, I’m fair complected, uncomplicated, and strong. 1825?

What’s your favorite food?
I’m a sucker for my mom’s meatloaf. I would probably choose it over anything.

Where do you think you and Greenbush will be in 5 years?
At this rate, we’ll probably be everywhere in the country!

If you only had one item you could take with you to work at Greenbush, what would it be?
My iPhone for sure. Email, music, ability to text co-workers, all essential for daily function at GB.

What’s the most exotic place you’ve ever visited?
Lived in Ireland for a bit. It’s a fantastic island! Italy and the Czech Republic are great too.

Chicago or Michigan sports teams (or Indiana if you’re crazy)?
Chicago all the way.

Did you have a favorite brewery before Greenbush opened? If so, what and why?
Guinness brewery in Dublin, Ireland. It’s huge and has the best Guinness in the world.

What’s on your nightstand?
A lamp.

How many beers do you drink in a typical day?
3 to 4.

Rhapsody Hero (where you try to pick the WORST song for everyone to enjoy)—what’s your pick?
Lovin’ You by Minnie Riperton.

BONUS QUESTION:
What’s on your clipboard right now?
Purchase Orders, inventories, my evil plan to take over the world, to do lists, distributor tags, etc…

4 thoughts on “Behind the Bush: Sam Walker

  1. I have known Sam since he was a little tyke. Great guy and great addition to Greenbush. Ask him about the infamous “Guns and Rosie” incident at his home/farm when he and my kids were younger.

  2. I have know Sam since he was a big tyke, and have worked with him for years. I’m actually kinda jealous that he gets to be on your team… He is a hard worker and a brilliant mind to have on the job. Brew on!

Leave a Reply

