Behind the Bush: Nicole Miller

nikkimillerNikki Miller started working at Greenbush nearly one year ago, in May 2012, as part of the summer staffing ramp up. That might lead you to wonder, how the heck did we get along without her? If you’ve been to the taproom, you’ve likely been lucky enough to interact with Nikki, now our wonderful General Manager. It’s tough to find her without a smile on her face, without a funny story to tell or without doing something (big or small) to make your experience at Greenbush better. She’s helped make the Greenbush taproom a tightly running ship, even amidst the constant chaos. Read on to find out more about the gal that loves her green polka dotted shorts.

What do you do at Greenbush?
Taproom Manager. Kicking ass and taking names, but I only take names when I’m hosting… otherwise I just kick ass.

How’d you get involved with the brewery?
Persistant harassment.

What time is happy hour for you?
Usually a couple hours after I wake up and the crabbiness subsides =)

You’re on a deserted island and can only have one case of mass-produced domestic beer dropped to you—what do you pick?
PBR

What’s your favorite non-Greenbush beverage to drink?
Water?

What’s been your most memorable Greenbush experience thus far?
My first day of work… Life hasn’t been the same since!

What do your friends and family think about all this madness?
They love it! And they usually want to know if we’re hiring.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
A doctor, which is funny because I feel like when people make a GB office visit we too cure them of their ailments, only our HMO is a little more manageable.

If you were a Greenbush beer, which would you be and why?
Well, I’m waiting for one called Unicorns and Rainbows, but since that hasn’t happened yet I guess I’d say RAGE because it’s the complete opposite and absolutely delicious!

What’s your favorite food?
Salad. Yes, seriously.

Where do you think you and Greenbush will be in 5 years?
… somewhere across the universe… (Lennon)

If you only had one item you could take with you to work, what would it be?
My dogs if they were allowed 😉

What’s the most exotic place you’ve ever visited?
Guatemala! If you want the full story I’ll tell it to you over a beer.

Chicago or Michigan sports teams (or Indiana if you’re crazy)?
Born and raised a Chicago fan but I prefer board sports.

Did you have a favorite brewery before Greenbush opened? If so, what and why?
Shorts because of their innovation and creativity, but also Russian River because of their delicious sours.

What’s on your nightstand?
My water bottle, cell phone, lots of jewelry that I don’t wear and several good books that are unfortunately collecting quite a layer of dust.

How many beers do you drink in a typical day?
Most of my days are atypical… it varies.

Rhapsody Hero (where you try to pick the WORST song for everyone to enjoy)—what’s your pick?
First thing that comes to mind is anything by Melissa Ethridge… “Come to My Window” ech =/

BONUS QUESTIONS:
If you could teleport to any brewery in the country right this second, where would you go?
Probably Stone because I’ve never been there and I hear they have a terrific beer garden. I could use a cold beer and some southern Cali sunshine right about now!

What does the temperature have to reach or pass for you to wear shorts to work?
No limit. As long as I have my GB knee highs I can wear shorts in any weather. I have actually been teasing to pull out the infamous green polka dot shorts for months now =) Although, LC (Lindsey Clements) is sizing me up with some stiff competition rocking her baja short collection… I’ve got work to do!

4 thoughts on “Behind the Bush: Nicole Miller

  1. Nicole began doing “research” that brought her to Greenbush when she was quite young. Though our bar at home was supplied with Coors & Miller light ( since we did not know any better back then ) we once found the bottles filled with water after one of Nicoles “Research weekend”. just kidding people !!! — or am I ??? She worked hard on her Hospitality & Restaurant management degree @ Purdue….then of course that with the second degree in psychology make her credentials perfect for being General Manager of GreenBush. I am very proud of her and it is so nice to see her hard work and dedication being appreciated. She talks about her second family OFTEN !!!

  2. Hiring Nicole is (one of) the smartest moves GB has made. She is unflappably pleasant and efficient at all times. If you have ever worked in food/bev service…this is no small feat. And bring on the dogs!!! Couldn’t the finished
    patio be dog friendly??

Leave a Reply

