Behind the Bush: Steve Murray

steevAhhhh, Steve Murray. One of those guys we were just lucky enough to pick up for employment at Greenbush. Steve started out as a Monday night regular and soon both he and his twin brother, Blake, joined the Greenbush staff as bartenders and cooks, respectively. But it wasn’t long before Steve was swooped up by the brewing crew to join their efforts. A solid home brewer, Steve came into the position with a good bit of knowledge, a serious appetite for learning and experimenting with beer and, best of all, a damn good attitude. Steve and Blake, along with the help of some good friends, are currently in the process of opening up their own brewery in Michigan City called Burn ‘Em Brewing. They already have quite the following and we only see things going up from here for them. Knowing the awesome beer that Steve already produces at Greenbush (those of you lucky enough to try the original Hollow Promises and now Broken Promises know what’s up) and in small batches in his spare time (ha!) know that there’s plenty of success in Burn ‘Em’s future. Read on to learn more about Steve, his love of beer (and mashed potatoes) and his up-and-coming brewery.

What do you do at Greenbush?
I’m a brewer at Greenbush. Making tasty beers is what I love to do.

How’d you get involved with the brewery?
I was a regular patron, sometimes three times a week. I saw Greenbush growing fast and knew I had to be part of it. I loved the atmosphere and the people. I got hired as a bartender in May of 2012 and a couple months later moved to brewing.

What time is happy hour for you?
Depending on the shift I work, happy hour can happen at many different hours of the day.

You’re on a deserted island and can only have one case of mass-produced domestic beer dropped to you—what do you pick?  
I know it says domestic, but isn’t Corona close enough? If not I’d take classic Budweiser.

What’s your favorite non-Greenbush beverage to drink?
Do you mean beer? I buy all sorts of different beers but my non-alcoholic choice is Arizona Green Tea.

What’s been your most memorable Greenbush experience thus far?
Winter Beer Fest. That is all.

What do your friends think about all this madness?
My friends are very supportive and maybe jealous haha.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
I never had just one thing I wanted to be. As a kid it was always something to deal with animals; at one point I remember wanting to be a marine biologist. Never thought I’d be where I am right now.

If you were a Greenbush beer, which would you be and why?
Broken Promises… just kidding!! I really don’t know what beer I would be…. Which one do you think?

What’s your favorite food?
I LOVE FOOD. But if I had to pick one dish… mashed potatoes.

You’re starting up your own brewery very soon–where do you think Burn ‘Em and Greenbush will be in 5 years?
5 years? I hope we are taking off with boat loads of collaborations between the two of us!

If you only had one item you could take with you to work, what would it be and why?
My pocket knife without a doubt! I use it for everything from eating to opening bags of cornflakes (PHD brew day).

What’s the most exotic place you’ve ever visited?
I’ve been to Jamaica, mon… Does Austria count as exotic? It was the best!

Chicago or Michigan sports teams (or Indiana if you’re crazy)?
When and if I watch sports it’s Chicago. Bulls, Bears, Blackhawks.

Did you have a favorite brewery before Greenbush opened? If so, what and why?
I enjoyed Three Floyds but couldn’t always get out there. Then BAM we find Greenbush and I had a new home Monday afternoons.

What’s on your nightstand?
… You don’t want to know…

How many beers do you drink in a typical day?
I don’t know if I should truthfully answer this, but it really depends on how my day is going. So with trying to open a brewery while working full time at another, I think my average is pretty decent.

Rhapsody Hero (where you try to pick the WORST song for everyone to enjoy)—what’s your pick?
Probably something very vulgar by Richard Cheese.

BONUS QUESTIONS
What are your current plans for opening Burn ‘Em?
So currently at Burn ‘Em, we are starting construction and waiting to hear back on our state and federal licenses. We are hoping to start production by September/October and if all goes good a taproom/tasting room by spring of 2014.

What are your favorite beers that you’ve brewed at Greenbush and for Burn ‘Em, respectively?
I love all my children, but of course I do pick favorites. At Greenbush, Broken/Hollow Promises takes the cake. I am so proud of that beer and seeing the reactions at the bar really brightens my day. At Burn ‘Em we have been brewing up some crazy things. So far my favorite one is the first recipe I’ve ever written, Biervana pale ale.

One thought on “Behind the Bush: Steve Murray

Leave a Reply

