Behind the Bush: Blake Murray

blakeSee that man hiding behind a cabbage mask? Yeah, that’s Blake. Emily here, with the honor of introducing someone near and dear to my heart (I promise that’s as mushy as it’s gonna get and to keep it PG).  Anyways, Blake started working at Greenbush exactly the same time as I did, so a little over two years ago. He’s one of the twins we were lucky enough to have on board here at GB. He’s the non-dreaded twin (for those of you who get confused) that’s opening Burn Em’ Brewing with brother/former brewer of ours, Steve (the dreaded one). Blake runs the kitchen and is  the mastermind behind our house made bacon, pastrami and other such meaty delights (if you haven’t tried these things, DO IT! and yes, I said meaty delights). This guy knows what he’s doing and also knows how to have a good time. Read on to learn more about the guy who comes up with the witty specialty pizza names and has rocked a banana suit on multiple occasions.

What do you do at Greenbush?                                                                                          
I am the head of the kitchen. There are some that call me chef…[Ed’s note: there are also some that call him Bob. Those who call him that  know what I’m talking about ;).]

How’d you get involved with the brewery?                                                                        I was a big fan of craft beer and some of my friends went to a tasting in South Bend and tried Anger. When we found out the brewery was only 20 miles away so we had to start going. One thing led to another, I applied and got hired!

What time is happy hour for you?                                                                            Cooking a personal meal with a big beer in hand would be a definite happy hour for me!

You’re on a deserted island and can only have one case of mass-produced domestic beer dropped to you—what do you pick?
Icehouse.  It’ll get you drunk!

What’s your favorite non-Greenbush beverage to drink?
Depends on the mood… Tequila, Bourbon, Two Hearted.

What’s been your most memorable Greenbush experience thus far?
My first few months working here. Also when I got to go to Summer Brew Fest in Ypsilanti. The fest was amazing and then we all stayed in a house together like a big slumber party. It was awesome!

What do your friends think about all this madness?                                                  Most of my friends are part of the madness!!

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
I always wanted to be in a band, even before I could play any instrument. Music has always been a huge passion of mine.

If you were a Greenbush beer, which would you be and why?
Star Chicken Shotgun. I am the dancing elvis chicken. [Ed’s note: Don’t let him fool you… we’ve been dating for almost a year and I have never seen him dance.]

What’s your favorite food?
Food. I love all food. I struggle to pick a meal every day. Trying to pick a favorite is like asking me to move a mountain. Ain’t gonna happen.

Where do you think you and Greenbush will be in 5 years?
At this rate, we will probably run the world.

If you only had one item you could take with you to work, what would it be and why?
My Leatherman multi-tool. It saves the day almost every day.

What’s the most exotic place you’ve ever visited?
Austria and the Stiegl Brewery.

Chicago or Michigan sports teams (or Indiana if you’re crazy)?
Chicago. I was born there and although I moved when I was young the Bears, Hawks, Bulls and Cubs were the teams my parents continued to follow.

Did you have a favorite brewery before Greenbush opened? If so, what and why?
I’d say Bell’s. Two Hearted brought me into the world of craft beer and you can’t turn your back on something like that.

What’s on your nightstand?
Kind of lame but… alarm clock, phone charger, old concert ticket stub and random receipts…

How many beers do you drink in a typical day?
4 to 5… but they’re small… usually… change the subject?

Rhapsody Hero (where you try to pick the WORST song for everyone to enjoy)—what’s your pick?
Something by Dethklok. Nothing gets peoples blood boiling quite like Dethklok!

BONUS QUESTIONS–
If you could come back into the world as any food what food would it be and why?
I feel like a piece of butter melting on big pile of flapjacks… [Ed’s note: random Pineapple Express quote instead of answering the question? That’s Blake for ya!]

So you like to cook… Any particular people (famous or not) that have inspired you or your style of cooking?
My parents. Growing up we had a home cooked meal every night even if I wasn’t home to eat it. They would try new recipes whether or not it was going to work out. They inspired me to try anything and to be proud of what you do, no matter what it was.

Leave a Reply

